Skip to content

Sticky sausage burgers

July 8, 2011

It’s Friday night, and it seems fitting to finish Burger Week with a gastropub creation. Something delicious, a little different and described at great detail in true gastropub menu style:

caramelised red onion and free-range pork sausagemeat
combined with fresh breadcumbs and sweet onion chutney

encasing a Red Leicester centre
baked slowly and served with torn little gem lettuce leaves
in a Farmhouse English muffin
.

Accompanied by shoestring fries and a cheeky shiraz rosé.

H is a much tidier burger-assembler than I am

A fabulous combination of flavour and texture. It’s the first time I’ve made burgers with a cheese centre and it worked really well, although some of the Red Leicester did escape as it melted. A definite winner, and far quicker and simpler than my beef burger recipe.

Shoestring fries

This has been a great challenge-within-a-challenge and I’d like to do something similar with a ‘themed’ week again. Go on, put a suggestion in the comments!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 8, 2011 9:32 pm

    I really enjoyed reading this. I like the idea of putting cheese inside a burger. I watched Ina Garten put butter in the middle of her burgers and I think I’ll be giving that a go soon. Just one thing, those aren’t scones. They’re English muffins. 🙂

  2. July 9, 2011 8:28 am

    Well spotted! You’re quite right; they were Cheddar and black pepper muffins from Sainsbury’s. I’ve now corrected the text, so thank you!

    It’s really easy to do, and it’s quite delicious. I used really good quality sausages too, which I think is essential. I look forward to hearing what you think when you’ve made them ; )

Leave a Reply

