Skip to content

Chicken tikka masala

March 29, 2011

Buoyed by the success of H’s raj-worthy birthday feast, I’m making another curry without the assistance of a jar of curry sauce. This time though, I am using curry paste as a shortcut, rather than combining the spices myself. Well, it is a Tuesday night.

Creamy and full of flavour

I used leftover chicken from the spicy roast we made on Friday, which I’d frozen and then defrosted overnight to use today.

Chicken tikka masala

Ingredients

150g cooked chicken, shredded
2 small red onions, diced
1 1/2 T tikka masala paste
1/2 T butter
400g tinned tomatoes
1/2 romano pepper, sliced
75ml single cream
splash of lemon juice

Method

1.  Fry the onion on a low heat until golden

2. Add the tikka paste and cook for two minutes, sprinkling with water if it starts to stick

3. Add the tomatoes and the butter.

4. Cover and leave to cook on low for half an hour, stirring occasionally.

5. Add the chicken and romano pepper with a pinch of salt and sugar, stir and heat through.

6. Stir in the cream and a splash of lemon juice

We dished this up with basmati rice. It was lovely and creamy, although H and I think that next time we’d ramp up the Scoville factor with some chilis. I do think that this means we’ve cracked the curry curse though – I’ll never have to rely on jars again and that’s just fantastic.

I do love the crunch of fresh pepper in this; I always add it to curry now.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

