Skip to content

Aubergine roulade and snow peas

March 20, 2011

I’ve been going through old cooking magazines and I found this recipe, which I would never have tried when I was still getting Delicious magazine on subscription. We’d tried aubergine once in a curry and not enjoyed it, in addition to which I’m always suspicious of meals without carbohydrates to them – where’s the pasta? However, as I’ve learned the folly of past prejudices (fruit in savoury dishes, pork cuts and broccoli to name a few) and this did look tasty, I thought it would be worth a try.

Aubergine parcels with snow peas

I’ve googled and not found a link, so in summary, to feed two:

Slice a large aubergine lengthways into long thin strips and dust with salt. Leave for two hours. Combine a beaten egg, 50g breadcrumbs, 50g Italian hard cheese, 125g minced pork (I used two Sainsbury’s sicilian-inspired sausages), 125g lean minced beef and fresh parsley in a bowl that’s been rubbed with a halved garlic clove. Pat the aubergine dry. Form balls from your meat and cheese mixture and roll up in the slices of aubergine. Cook for half an hour at 180ºC in an oiled baking tray, and serve straight from the oven with something green on the side.

It was appropriately delicious, although it could have done with another side of greens again as the aubergine and meat are quite rich; if I were to make this again I’d have more snow peas and some steamed tenderstem broccoli.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

